Byrds Flyght

«  March 2023  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0


Let's have a thought for Gene Clark; who died 31 years ago today

Views: 67 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-05-24 | Comments (0)


by Best Classic Bands staff

David Crosby made it official in an interview on May 5: After nearly 60 years of relentless touring, from clubs to stadiums, he’s retiring from the road.

After being asked, “Are you going to tour anymore?” Crosby put it bluntly: “No.”

“I’m not, because I’m 80. It’s because I’m old,” he said. “Being on a bus tour is a daunting task. It’s very hard. It takes it out of you. I’m too old to do it anymore. I don’t have the stamina; I don’t have the strength.”

His recent bout with COVID also took a toll on him. “It has been awful. COVID is a very weird disease. It makes you feel absolutely freaking awful,” he said. “It has been thoroughly unpleasant…it’s no fun at all. You want to avoid it if you possibly can.”

Crosby has enjoyed an unprecedented career renaissance that began in 2014 with the release of his fourth solo album, simply titled Croz. Since then, he has released four more solo projects, collaborating with a variety of musicians and singers: Lighthouse (2016), Sky Trails (2017), Here if You Listen (2018) and 2021’s For Free.

Crosby’s six-decade career has included co-founding such culture-defining bands as The Byrds and Crosby Stills & Nash (both of whom have been inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame), and gaining entrée into the illustrious Songwriters Hall of Fame.

 Thanks to JPM

Views: 73 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-05-13 | Comments (0)

BYRDS 1973 « Reunion » LP re-re-re-re-re-released….

Remastered edition 180g audiophile coral vinyl LP on Friday Music Records FRM-5058

In october 1972, The Byrds changed the course of rock music history once again, as the original 1965 superstar line-up of Roger McGuinn, David Crosby, Chris Hillman, Gene Clark and Michael Clarke ventured back into the studio to cut their final studio album. Produced by David Crosby, the stellar new work, simply titled "Byrds", became one of the most anticipated 1973 album releases.
The eleven song masterwork kicks off with their hit single "Full Circle", and follows up with the brilliant track "Sweet Mary", featuring the stunning vocals of Roger McGuinn. More choice material abounds, including Joni Mitchell's "For Free" and two tracks written by Neil Young.
In an effort to continually offer consummate music lovers with the greatest rock recordings of all time, Friday Music proudly presents for the first-time-ever on 180-gram audiophile vinyl, the Anniversary Edition of The Byrds' 1973 Asylum Records classic, “Byrds”.
Impeccably mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios from the original Asylum Records tapes,  the masterwork is pressed for a very limited time on striking 180-gram coral audiophile vinyl, with its original gatefold cover art.

Views: 67 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-04-20 | Comments (0)

R.I.P. Roland White April 1st, 2022

We just learned of the passing of Roland White, an ex-member of The Country Boys and The Kentucky Colonels with his brother Clarence.

Views: 63 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-04-02 | Comments (0)

Uncut's "The Ultimate Music Guide - The Byrds - The Full Story" (2022 edition) is available.

You can order it here:

Thanks to Uncle Gil.

Views: 88 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-03-12 | Comments (1)


All written / recorded (1964-1973) by Byrds, incl. some songs members wrote / performed before joining Byrds; excl.  bootlegs, MP3's, DVD's, promos (unless sold in retail outlets) & unreleased recordings. 


Download it here:

Compiled by David Chirko, Sudbury, Ontario, Canada  &

Many thanks to David.


Views: 167 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-03-11 | Comments (0)



ACE Records will release yet another Various Artists « Tribute To Gene Clark » CD called « You Showed Me » on March 25, 2022.

Seems interesting, although most tracks are already known.


01 Jakob Dylan and Cat Power - You Showed Me

02 Juice Newton – I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better

03 Thin White Rope - I Knew I'd Want You

04 Flamin' Groovies - She Don't Care About Time

05 Roxy Music - Eight Miles High

06 The Rose Garden - Till Today

07 Starry Eyed & Laughing - Echoes

08 Velvet Crush - Elevator Operator

09 The Thyme - I Found You

10 Death In Vegas with Paul Weller - So You Say You Lost Your Baby

11 The Flying Burrito Brothers - Tried So Hard

12 New Grass Revival - In The Plan

13 Kai Clark - Train Leaves Here This Morning

14 Linda Ronstadt - He Darked The Sun

15 Pure Prairie League - Kansas City Southern

16 Iain Matthews - Polly

17 The Mother Hips - Why Not Your Baby

18 The Byrds - Full Circle

19 The Baird Sisters - Silver Raven

20 Soulsavers with Mark Lanegan - Some Misunderstanding

21 This Mortal Coil - Strength Of Strings


You can (pre)order it here:


Views: 85 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-02-20 | Comments (0)

Chris Hillman - Carlos Bernal - Roger McGuinn - Kevin Kelley

We just learned that Carlos Bernal, ex Byrds roadie, who stepped in as a replacement for Gram Parsons on the Byrds South Africa tour in 1968, and also a former member and bassist of Gene Clark's Byrds passed away on Saturday 5th February.


Views: 92 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2022-02-10 | Comments (0)

Roger McGuinn, David Crosby and Chris Hillman have collaborated in a project for a book to be published in 2022 in four configurations.

It’s titled “The Byrds – 1964-1967”.

Details here:

Preo-order here:

But wait…at a price range of $425 to $1,000…do they think we’re all millionaires?

Many thanks to David for the info.


Views: 108 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2021-12-16 | Comments (0)

Our regular correspondent and friend Mike M. from the U.K. alerted us about a new album that has just been released. 

You can get a download here: 

If someone wants physical, signed copies they would need to send a check, cashiers’ check or money order made payable to GENE PARSONS to:
Gene Parsons
P.O. Box 445
Mendocino, California 95460
U.S. residents need to send $35.00.
Because of the excessive postage fees to Europe, European fans would need to send $40.00. 

Gene Parsons Band - Recorded Live 1981 - 1983 

1. California Blues (8:51)
2. Won't Last Long (4:55)
3. Mercury Blues (8:42)
4. Hickory Wind (4:02)
5. Buckaroo (3:57)
6. Nashville West - Take A City Bride City Bride (6:42)
7. How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live (8:43)
8. She Caught The Katy (8:07)
9. Lily's Hot Bread (2:27)
10. Wind And Rain (4:03)
11. Why You Been Gone So Long (6:12)
12. Banjo Dog (3:31)
13. Diggi Liggi Li (6:25)
14. Nuclear Dayz (7:35)
15. You Don't Miss Your Water (11:08)
16. In My Hour Of Darkness (4:43)
17. There Must Be Someone (6:05)
18. Why You Been Gone So Long 2 (4:09)
19. Real Life Problems (2:54)
20. Swing Down Chariot (2:42)

Many thanks to Mike for the info and to Gene Parsons for the download and ordering details


Views: 118 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2021-12-11 | Comments (1)

« 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 27 »