Byrds Flyght

«  January 2021  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0


Main » 2021 » January » 14



We've just been sent a recording of a 3h 15min Byrds Story (1964-1981) that was broadcast on a Frenchspeaking radio station in 1981.

You can download it here:

Here's the track listing. All comments are in French.


01 You Movin’ (The Jet Set)

02 Please Let Me Love You (The Beefeaters)

03 You Showed Me

04 Mr. Tambourine Man

05 All I Really Want To Do

06 Turn! Turn! Turn!

07 Eight Miles High

08 Mr. Spaceman

09 Lady Friend (single only)

10 So You Want To Be A Rock ‘n’ Roll Star

11 My Back Pages

12 Goin’ Back

13 Nothing Was Delivered

14 Wheels On Fire

15 Old Blue

16 Ballad Of Easy Rider

17 Jesus Is Just Alright

18 It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue

19 Child Of The Universe

20 Lay Lady Lay (single only)

21 Chestnut Mare

22 Positively 4th Street

23 Glory, Glory

24 I Wanna Grow Up To Be A Politician

25 Here Tonight (Gene Clark with the original Byrds)

26 Lover Of The Bayou (live in Holland May 1971)

27 You Ain’t Going Nowhere (live in Belgium 1971)

28 Tiffany Queen

29 America’s Great National Pastime

30 Roll Over Beethoven (live Banjoman soundtrack)

31 Cowgirl In The Sand

32 Full Circle

33 My New Woman (Roger McGuinn with the 4 other original Byrds)

34 Hanoi Hannah (Roger McGuinn)

35 Peace On You (Roger McGuinn)

36 Same Old Sound (Roger McGuinn)

37 Somebody Loves You (Roger McGuinn And Band)

38 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (Roger McGuinn And Band)

39 Chestnut Mare (Roger McGuinn with The Rolling Thunder Review – live 1976)

40 Eight Miles High (Roger McGuinn with The Rolling Thunder Review – live 1976)

41 Up To Me (Roger McGuinn)

42 All Night Long (Roger McGuinn’s Thunderbyrd)

43 American Girl (Roger McGuinn’s Thunderbyrd – live at Rockpalast 1977)

44 Shoot ’em (The Victor Song) (Roger McGuinn’s Thunderbyrd – live at Rockpalast 1977)

45 I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better (McGuinn, Clark & Hillman) (live 1978)

46 Don’t You Write Her Off (McGuinn, Clark & Hillman)

47 Giving Yourself Away (Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman featuring Gene Clark)

48 It Doesn’t Matter (Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman) (live in Brussels 1980)

49 A Secret Side Of You (Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman)

50 Love Me Tonight (Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman)

Views: 171 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2021-01-14 | Comments (0)

Jim McGuinn (at left with the long neck banjo) with The New Christy Minstrels.

In 1963, Jim McGuinn was playing with The Chad Mitchell Trio, and was offered to join The New Christy Minstrels. A picture of the group with him is posted above.

Before he had a chance to record or tour with them, he was offered a job by Bobby Darin, which he accepted as Darin offered to double the salary he had with The Chad Mitchell Trio. McGuinn plays on three Capitol LPs by Darin.

You can read the long, complete story of the relationship between Darin and McGuinn, as told by the latter, by going here:


Views: 168 | Added by: Byrds-Flyght | Date: 2021-01-14 | Comments (0)